Petrow-Freeman Documentary Award

About the Petrow-Freeman Alumni Documentary Award

From 2009-2014, the Petrow-Freeman Documentary Award provided funding & support to help a SAF alum complete an original documentary project focusing on farmworkers and social change. The award was used by winners to cover the costs of training, equipment, materials, time, & travel necessary to complete a documentary project.

Laura Ann Freeman and Steven Petrow, both Duke graduates, were founding members of the Duke Migrant Project formed in 1976 by Robert Coles, MD & Bruce Payne that later became SAF.  Their hope is to bolster the role of documentary in social change work.

Documentaries by Past Award Winners:
2014 Award Winner Leanne Simon
2013 Award Winner Atlee Webber
2012 Award Winner Laura Valencia
2011 Award Winner Tony Macias
2010 Award Winner Leanne Tory-Murphy
2009 Award Winner Adriana Sanchez


Joanna Welborn
Communications Arts Director